Making Gluten-Free Gravy
How to Make Gluten-Free Gravy
Gravy is most often thickened with a roux, which is some type of fat thickened with a little flour. Without this step, a gravy would be too thin and not even considered a gravy at all. But, this step is also what makes gravy a huge misstep for any guests on a gluten-free diet!
Here are some easy ways to make a gravy that is gluten free. Choose the one best suited.
1) Use mashed potatoes as the thickener for a gravy to make it a gluten-free gravy!
Combine plain mashed potatoes with your stock and turkey drippings and cook over medium to medium-low heat. Continue whisking until the gravy is thick and smooth. About a tablespoon of mashed potatoes should do the trick to thicken a small to medium pan of gravy. Whisk in more if thicker gravy is desired.
2) If you didn’t make mashed potatoes with the meal, then reach for a package of instant mashed potatoes.
These dried potato flakes will also do the trick, just add somewhere from a teaspoon to a tablespoon depending on how much stock you have. Place the flakes in the middle and then give it a stir with a whisk. Thickened, gluten-free gravy will be ready to be served in no time.
3) Cornstarch is another option to use in place of flour.
Cornstarch is made from corn, so it is naturally gluten free. But beware, some cornstarch is made in factories whose machines also process flour which may provide some cross contamination for those that are truly allergic to gluten. Some brands of cornstarch that are considered fully gluten free include Argo & Kingsford, Bob’s Red Mill, Hodgson Mill, Clabber Girl and Hearth Club.
4) Another idea is to use a dry packaged gravy mix labeled “gluten-free”.
Check the label when purchasing and then follow the directions on the package for the easiest gluten-free gravy.
Prepared gravy has a shelf life of up to a week when stored properly covered in the refrigerator.